Skip to content

you come in, you will get burned/i am just what i am is what i have learned

March 7, 2010

I got a pyrography kit! I got a pyrography kit! Wooooo! New toys! I’m going to be playing with this all day. At first I thought that the images online of pyrography were kinda hokey, but now I have the utmost respect for people who can render eagles and puppies and shit in this medium…because DAMN it is hard to control. But, that’s kinda what I like about it. It’s hot and dangerous and sexy and out of control. What I am working on today: burning writhing bodies into hunks of wood. Thinking about: Hell, fire as a destructive and cleansing force, fire in the belly. Maybe later I’ll try to find some time to do a baaaawla portrait of Captain Jack Sparrow or burn a kick-ass scorpion-ninja-thing on the back of my sister’s banjo.

One Comment leave one →
  1. kaffyr permalink
    March 12, 2010 8:52 pm

    This is fascinating. I am very fearful of dealing with hot objects, so my respect for you and the pieces you’ve created has an added sense of awe, but the pieces by themselves are also pretty damned comment worthy. The textures in the face are particularly praiseworthy. (And I feel as if I know that person, although I can’t tell you why.)

Leave a Reply

